Standards

A Cracked Recovery Ring: Six Makers, and Not One Retirement Criterion Between Them

By RiggingOps Editorial · Updated

Sources last verified against the product pages of six aluminium recovery rings read directly in this pass — Factor 55 Rope Retention Pulley, Agency 6 Recovery Ring 5.0, Saber Offroad Ezy-Glide, Overland Vehicle Systems 6.25 inch, Bubba Rope Recovery Ring and Carbon Offroad Monkey Fist — plus every manual, warranty, care-guide and PDF those pages link to, and the ASME B30.26-4 removal-criteria clause as reproduced in a rigging distributor's published inspection guide, read as text and confirmed against a render of the same page. How we re-check

Read before you rig

Recovery gear stores serious kinetic energy. A failed rope, strap, or shackle can whip back with enough force to injure or kill. Keep everyone clear of the load path, never exceed a component's rated capacity, and follow your gear manufacturer's manual. Where it differs from anything on this page, the manual wins. This article is spec-and-evidence analysis, not field instruction from a certified instructor. If you're not confident rigging the pull safely, that's a reason to call someone who is, not a reason to guess.

Key takeaways

  • Answer first: every published rigging vocabulary treats a crack in a load-bearing component as a removal condition, not a wear item. ASME B30.26-4.8.4, the removal-criteria clause for links, rings and swivels, lists "Bent, twisted, distorted, stretched, elongated, cracked, or broken load bearing components." There is no inspection interval, no crack length and no repair. A cracked ring is done.
  • The uncomfortable part is that the clause above was not written for your ring. B30.26 is rigging hardware for load handling - industrial lifting. None of the six recovery rings read for this page is manufactured or marketed to it. The standard is being used here as published vocabulary for a condition, which is the only thing it can honestly supply.
  • All six makers read for this page publish a load rating. NONE of the six publishes an inspection, wear, crack, retirement or discard criterion for the ring itself - not on the product page, not in a linked manual, warranty or spec sheet. Two of them (Saber Offroad and Bubba Rope) carry a general, site-wide instruction to inspect for wear and stop using a damaged product, but neither is ring-specific and neither sets a criterion. The makers checked were Factor 55, Agency 6, Saber Offroad, Overland Vehicle Systems, Bubba Rope and Carbon Offroad.
  • Only one of the six lets you see its own safety margin. Overland Vehicle Systems publishes both "45,000 lb. breaking strength" and "15,000 Working Load Limit" on the same page. Divide them and the implied design factor is 3:1 - this page's own arithmetic, not a figure OVS names. For comparison, ASME sets 5 for shackles up to 150 tons. The other five publish one number, so no margin can be calculated at all.
  • Three of the six restrict the ring to synthetic rope in explicit terms - Factor 55 ("SYNTHETIC ROPE ONLY"), Agency 6 ("Synthetic winch rope only") and Saber Offroad ("should ONLY be used with soft shackles and synthetic winch ropes"). The other three publish no rope-type restriction at all on the pages read. That is a real difference between products that look identical.
  • Carbon Offroad publishes "Rated to 22,000lb (10,000kg)" without saying whether that is a working load limit or a breaking strength. Those differ by a factor of three to five. A number without its label cannot be compared to anything.
  • What this page will NOT tell you is why your particular ring cracked. None of the six makers publishes a cause, a failure mode, or a warning about dropping or impact damage. Anyone who tells you confidently why an aluminium ring cracks is going beyond what its manufacturer has published.

A cracked recovery ring is one of the few recovery-gear questions with a clean answer at the top. Every published rigging vocabulary treats a crack in a load-bearing component as a removal condition — not a wear item, not something with an allowable length. ASME B30.26-4.8.4, the removal-criteria clause covering links, rings and swivels, puts it in a single line:

“Bent, twisted, distorted, stretched, elongated, cracked, or broken load bearing components.”

No crack length. No location that makes it acceptable. No repair.

The uncomfortable part is everything behind that sentence.

The Clause Was Not Written for Your Ring

B30.26 is the rigging hardware volume, written for load handling with industrial lifting equipment. Its scope enumerates shackles, links, rings, swivels, turnbuckles, eyebolts, hoist rings, wire rope clips, wedge sockets, rigging blocks and load-indicating devices — read from the scope statement published on the standard’s authorized-reseller listing, since the standard itself is paywalled.

Not one of the six aluminium recovery rings read for this page claims conformance to it, or to any other standard. They are aftermarket consumer products, self-certified by their makers — which is how the whole category works.

So this page is not going to tell you that B30.26 governs your ring. It does not. What the clause honestly supplies is a published vocabulary for a condition where the vehicle-recovery world publishes none — the same use this site makes of the hooks volume, and for the same stated reason. It is worth having precisely because it does not hedge on cracks.

What the Six Makers Actually Publish

Every one of these product pages was opened and read directly for this page.

Maker Rating as published Rope-type restriction Inspection / retirement criteria
Factor 55 Rope Retention Pulley “WLL 22,000 pounds (97.9 KN)” Explicit: “SYNTHETIC ROPE ONLY” None published
Agency 6 Recovery Ring 5.0“ “Working Load Limit 24,000 lbs / 107kN” Explicit: “Synthetic winch rope only” None published
Saber Offroad Ezy-Glide “Working Load Limit (W.L.L) of 12,500KG” Explicit: soft shackles and synthetic winch ropes only None for the ring; a general site-wide inspect-for-wear line on its warranty page
Overland Vehicle Systems 6.25“ “45,000 lb. breaking strength” and “15,000 Working Load Limit” None published None published
Bubba Rope Recovery Ring “22,000 lbs. Working Load Limit (WLL)” None published None for the ring; a general site-wide inspect-for-wear line in its terms
Carbon Offroad Monkey Fist 10T “Rated to 22,000lb (10,000kg)” — unlabelled None published None published

Read the last column again. Six of six publish a number and nothing about when to stop trusting the ring. No inspection interval, no checklist, no discard criterion, no crack guidance.

That is not for want of looking past the product page. Factor 55’s pulley page links to a recovery-manuals collection — which contains no manual for the pulley and no PDFs at all — and to a warranty page carrying no inspection language. Overland Vehicle Systems links a Recovery Rings product PDF; it is a new-product announcement sheet, and the words inspect, crack, wear, damage and discard appear nowhere in it. Saber Offroad and Bubba Rope do each carry one general sentence, but site-wide rather than about the ring: Saber’s warranty page says to “Regularly inspect the product for wear and tear, and avoid use if signs of damage, fraying etc are present”, and Bubba Rope’s terms say much the same. Neither mentions cracks. Neither sets a threshold. Fraying is rope language — a clue that the sentence was written to cover a catalogue, not a machined aluminium ring.

The One Maker Who Shows You the Margin

Five of the six publish exactly one number, which means the safety margin above it cannot be calculated at all. This is the same disclosure gap documented across snatch blocks and rings, and it matters more here because there is no standard behind the number.

Overland Vehicle Systems is the exception. It publishes both:

“45,000 lb. breaking strength” “15,000 Working Load Limit”

Divide them and the implied design factor is 3:1. That division is this page’s arithmetic, not a figure OVS names, and OVS does not cite a standard for it. Set it beside the shackle world, where B30.26 section 26-1.2 requires a minimum design factor of 5 for shackles up to and including a 150-ton rated load — a figure this site cites from a publicly readable 2013 engineering memorandum quoting that half of the clause verbatim, not from the paywalled standard — and the comparison is worth sitting with — not because 3:1 is wrong for a machined aluminium ring, but because it is the only one of the six you can check at all.

Carbon Offroad sits at the other end. “Rated to 22,000lb (10,000kg)” never says whether that is a working limit or a breaking point. Those differ by a factor of three to five, so the same figure could describe two very different products. A number without its label cannot be compared to anything — which is the whole subject of our WLL vs MBS explainer.

The Rope-Type Split Is Real

Three makers restrict the ring to synthetic rope in explicit terms:

  • Factor 55: “The RRP is for use with SYNTHETIC ROPE ONLY and is to be used in conjunction with a soft shackle.”
  • Agency 6: “Synthetic winch rope only.”
  • Saber Offroad: “It is crucial to note that the Ezy-Glide Recovery Ring should ONLY be used with soft shackles and synthetic winch ropes.”

The other three publish no rope-type restriction on the pages read. On the Overland Vehicle Systems page the word synthetic does not appear at all; it describes the ring as designed for use with a soft shackle and says it can be used with any standard tow strap.

Do not read that silence as permission. None of those three publishes a steel-cable rating either. Running wire rope through one of them is unrated by its own manufacturer, which is a different thing from approved — and a worse position to be in than with the makers who at least tell you where the line is.

What This Page Could Not Establish

Why your ring cracked. None of the six makers publishes a cause, a failure mode, or a warning about dropping the ring or impact damage. That is a gap in the published record, and filling it with confident metallurgy would be inventing the answer this page exists to source.

Two pieces of advice circulate widely enough to be worth naming, because both are often repeated as though a manufacturer said them:

  • Do not let the ring’s outer edge get dinged, on the reasoning that a burr there could damage the soft shackle running against it.
  • Watch heat build-up where a rope runs against a ring that cannot roll.

Neither appears on any of the six makers’ pages read for this page. That is the only claim this page will make about them: not that they are wrong — both sound plausible, and the second echoes guidance synthetic-rope makers do publish about friction against non-rolling sheaves — but that whoever repeats them as manufacturer guidance is adding an attribution the manufacturer did not.

What Bubba Rope’s care instructions say. That host answers automated requests with HTTP 403. The product page was read through a second retrieval path; a separate care-and-instruction page was not reachable in this pass and may contain criteria the product page does not.

Don’t Confuse These

  • A rating is not a breaking point. Five of six publish a Working Load Limit, which is a limit for use. It tells you nothing about how close you came.
  • Silence is not permission. Three makers publish no rope-type restriction. That is unrated, not approved.
  • A standard’s vocabulary is not a standard’s jurisdiction. B30.26-4.8.4 tells you what a crack means in rigging language. It does not certify, cover, or govern an aluminium recovery ring.
  • “Cracked” is not on a spectrum. Of the eight criteria in that clause that could apply to a ring, seven turn on qualitative judgement — excessive, indications of, missing or illegible. Cracked is not one of them.
  • A cracked ring is not a spare. There is no lighter duty to demote it to. Rigging removal criteria have no such category.

How We Sourced This

Six manufacturer product pages were opened and read directly rather than summarised, and each quotation above was checked against the page it is attributed to.

A negative claim is only as good as the places you looked, so the product pages were not the end of it. Every manual, warranty, care-guide and PDF link on those pages was followed: Factor 55’s recovery-manuals collection (no pulley manual, no PDFs) and its warranty page (no inspection language); Overland Vehicle Systems’ linked Recovery Rings PDF (a product-announcement sheet — inspect, crack, wear, damage and discard appear nowhere in it); and Saber Offroad’s warranty page, which is where its one general inspect-for-wear sentence lives. Agency 6’s page links no documents at all. That is the search behind “none of the six publishes a criterion” — a claim this page would rather state narrowly than have quietly falsified by a linked document that went unopened. Two of the six hosts required a second retrieval path after refusing the first: Bubba Rope returns HTTP 403 to automated requests, and Saber Offroad’s site refused several attempts before serving. A 403 is bot mitigation, not a dead page or an absent document — neither host is reported here as publishing nothing simply because a fetch failed.

The B30.26-4.8.4 clause is quoted from a rigging distributor’s published inspection guide rather than from ASME, whose standards are paywalled. That reproduction does not state which edition it follows, so it is cited as what that guide publishes. It was read as text and then confirmed against a rendered image of the same page, because a reproduction is exactly the kind of document where an extraction error would be invisible.

Where this page says none of the makers publishes something, the makers are named every time, and the claim is bounded to the pages read in this pass. Full sourcing and rating methodology: review methodology.

Frequently asked questions

My recovery ring has a crack in it. Can I still use it?

Treat it as scrap. No published rigging criterion permits continued use of a cracked load-bearing component: ASME B30.26-4.8.4, the removal-criteria clause covering links, rings and swivels, lists "Bent, twisted, distorted, stretched, elongated, cracked, or broken load bearing components" among the conditions requiring removal from service, with no crack length, depth or location that makes it acceptable. Be aware of the honest caveat, though: that clause governs rigging hardware for industrial load handling, and none of the six aluminium recovery rings read for this page is built or marketed to it. Your ring's own manufacturer publishes no criterion for the condition - at most a general site-wide line about not using a product showing wear. So the standard is not authority over your ring - it is simply the only published vocabulary that exists for the condition, and it does not hedge on cracks.

Why did it crack in the first place?

This page cannot tell you, and neither can the makers. None of the six manufacturers read for this page - Factor 55, Agency 6, Saber Offroad, Overland Vehicle Systems, Bubba Rope or Carbon Offroad - publishes a failure mode, a cause, or any warning about dropping the ring or impact damage. That silence is worth naming rather than filling. There is plenty of confident explanation circulating on forums and in reviews, some of it attributed to manufacturers that did not say it - one widely-repeated warning about denting a ring's outer edge traces to a magazine reviewer's own advice, not to the maker of the ring being reviewed. What can be said from published material is narrower: the rating on the ring is in most cases a Working Load Limit, which is a limit for use and not a breaking point, and five of the six give you no way to see how much margin sits above it.

How often should I inspect a recovery ring, and what am I looking for?

No manufacturer among the six read for this page publishes an inspection interval or a checklist for its ring - not one, and not in a linked manual, warranty or spec sheet either. Two carry a general, site-wide instruction and nothing more: Saber Offroad's warranty page says to "Regularly inspect the product for wear and tear, and avoid use if signs of damage, fraying etc are present", and Bubba Rope's terms say a customer should regularly check for wear and not use a product showing it. Neither is ring-specific, neither mentions cracks, and neither sets a threshold - and the word "fraying" in Saber's version is rope language, which tells you the sentence was written to cover a catalogue rather than a machined ring. If you want a published list of conditions to look for, the closest that exists is the B30.26-4.8.4 clause: missing or illegible identification, indications of heat damage, excessive pitting or corrosion, bent or cracked load-bearing components, excessive nicks or gouges, a 10 percent reduction of the original or catalog dimension at any point, and evidence of unauthorized welding or modification. Two further entries in the clause apply only to swivels. Of the eight that could apply to a ring, exactly one is numeric.

Can I run steel cable through an aluminium recovery ring?

Three of the six makers say not to, in explicit terms: Factor 55 ("The RRP is for use with SYNTHETIC ROPE ONLY and is to be used in conjunction with a soft shackle"), Agency 6 ("Synthetic winch rope only") and Saber Offroad ("It is crucial to note that the Ezy-Glide Recovery Ring should ONLY be used with soft shackles and synthetic winch ropes"). The other three - Overland Vehicle Systems, Bubba Rope and Carbon Offroad - publish no rope-type restriction on the pages read for this page. Do not read that silence as permission. None of the three publishes a steel-cable rating either, so running wire rope through one of those is unrated by its own maker rather than approved by it. Our [snatch blocks and recovery rings](/best-snatch-blocks/) page covers which hardware takes which rope type.

Is a recovery ring covered by any standard at all?

Not that this page could establish. ASME B30.26 is the rigging hardware volume and its scope enumerates shackles, links, rings, swivels, turnbuckles, eyebolts, hoist rings, wire rope clips, wedge sockets, rigging blocks and load-indicating devices - but it is written for load handling with industrial lifting equipment, and none of the six rings read here claims conformance to it or to any other standard. This matches what the broader category does: ratings on aftermarket recovery gear are manufacturer self-certified unless the product says otherwise. See [recovery gear ratings](/recovery-gear-ratings/) for how that self-certification works, and [WLL vs MBS](/wll-vs-mbs/) for why the label on the number matters as much as the number.

Free downloads

Get 3 free printable recovery guides

Still deciding? Take the checklists and compare later. One email sends all three printables: the Recovery Kit Card (kit list plus a glovebox-sized WLL/MBS cheat sheet, the exact rating numbers from this site), the four-tier buying checklist, and the 37-check pre-trip inspection checklist. Then occasional new guides. Unsubscribe in one click, any time.

Submitting this form subscribes you to our email list. See our notice at collection for what we collect, why, and your rights.

Sources

  1. Sharrow Lifting Products: Inspection and Removal Criteria (a rigging distributor's published guide reproducing ASME removal-criteria clauses; the ASME B30.26-4 Links, Rings, and Swivels clause 26-4.8.4 is quoted from it). The reproduction does not state which edition of B30.26 it follows — read as text and confirmed against a render of the same page (opens in a new tab)
  2. ASME B30.26, Rigging Hardware — current edition, paywalled (cited for the scope statement enumerating the hardware the volume covers, not for clause text) (opens in a new tab)
  3. Glosten Associates engineering memorandum, hosted by UNOLS (a 2013 professional engineering memo quoting the up-to-150-ton half of ASME B30.26 section 26-1.2 verbatim; cited here only for the shackle design-factor comparison, and it says nothing about recovery rings) (opens in a new tab)
  4. Factor 55: Rope Retention Pulley product page (billet machined 6000 series aluminum, Mil-A-8625 F hard anodized, WLL 22,000 pounds, and the explicit SYNTHETIC ROPE ONLY restriction). No inspection or retirement criteria appear on the page (opens in a new tab)
  5. Agency 6: Recovery Ring 5.0 product page (CNC machined from premium 6061-T6511 aluminum, Working Load Limit 24,000 lbs / 107kN, rope compatibility synthetic winch rope only, max rope 1/2 inch). No inspection or retirement criteria appear on the page (opens in a new tab)
  6. Saber Offroad: Ezy-Glide Recovery Ring product page (T6 billet aluminium, Working Load Limit 12,500KG, and the instruction that it should only be used with soft shackles and synthetic winch ropes). No inspection or retirement criteria appear on the page. This host refused several automated requests before serving (opens in a new tab)
  7. Saber Offroad: warranty policy page (carries the only inspect-for-wear instruction found on any of the six makers' sites: regularly inspect the product for wear and tear, and avoid use if signs of damage, fraying etc are present). Site-wide, not ring-specific, and it does not mention cracks (opens in a new tab)
  8. Overland Vehicle Systems: Recovery Rings product PDF linked from the product page (checked specifically for inspection or retirement criteria; it is a product-announcement sheet and contains none, nor the words inspect, crack, wear, damage or discard) (opens in a new tab)
  9. Factor 55: recovery manuals collection, linked from the Rope Retention Pulley page (checked for a pulley manual; the collection lists no manual for the pulley and carries no PDFs) (opens in a new tab)
  10. Factor 55: warranty page, linked from the Rope Retention Pulley page (checked specifically for inspection or retirement language; it carries none) (opens in a new tab)
  11. Bubba Rope: terms and conditions (the general, site-wide instruction that a customer should regularly check a product for wear and that no product showing wear should be used; not ring-specific and it does not mention cracks) (opens in a new tab)
  12. Overland Vehicle Systems: Recovery Ring 6.25 inch product page (T6 6061 aircraft grade aluminum, 45,000 lb breaking strength AND 15,000 Working Load Limit — the only ring here publishing both numbers). The word synthetic does not appear on the page and no rope-type restriction is published; no inspection or retirement criteria appear either (opens in a new tab)
  13. Bubba Rope: Recovery Ring product page (billet aluminum alloy, military-grade type 3 hard anodizing, 22,000 lbs Working Load Limit, designed for use with the maker's 3/8 inch synthetic soft shackles). No rope-type restriction and no inspection or retirement criteria appear on the page. This host blocks automated requests with HTTP 403; the page was read through a second retrieval path (opens in a new tab)
  14. Carbon Offroad: Monkey Fist 10T Recovery Ring product page (solid billet 6061 T6 aluminium construction, rated to 22,000lb / 10,000kg with no WLL or MBS label attached to that figure). No rope-type restriction and no inspection or retirement criteria appear on the page (opens in a new tab)